

SEAD's Global Efficiency Medal competitions demonstrate the levels of efficiency that are possible



today, and shine a spotlight on innovative new technologies that can further push efficiency

SEAD Global Efficiency Medal for Electric Motors



Competition Rationale

Motor-driven systems account for 40% of electricity consumption globally, and are responsible more than 6,000 megatonnes of CO₂ emissions annually.

Competition Timeline

	Program Launch 3 JUNE 2013			Nomination Period JUN 2013–JAN 2014				 Judging and Validation FEB-AUG 2014 				 Winners Announced SEPT 2014 			
JUN 2013	JUL	AUG	SEPT	OCT	NOV	DEC	JAN 2014	FEB	MAR	APR	MAY	JUN	JUL	AUG	SEPT

Product Award Categories

IEC Induction Motor	NEMA Induction Motor	New Technology Motor		

Comparing Efficiency

SEAD Award-winning products vs. average products sold

	Size	Average Product Efficiency	Winning Product Efficiency	Efficiency Improvement
North America	5 hp	89.3%	91.1%	2.0%
	15 hp	92.2%	93.6%	1.5%
Australia	4 kW	88.2%	91.2%	3.4%
	11 kW	90.8%	93.5%	3.0%
EU	4 kW	85.5%		_
	11 kW	89.1%	—	_
India	3.7 kW	83.1%	88.4%	6.4%
	11 kW	87.6%	91.5%	4.4%



Award Category

Note: Average efficiency data is based on 2013 sales for each size category, as determined by IHS Technology (NYSE: IHS) through market analysis.

International Award Winners

This competition identified the following commercially-available induction motors as international winners for demonstrating the greatest efficiency in two size categories among three regions: Australia, India, and North America.

Regional Winners

SEAD also recognized the following regional winners:





ABOUT SEAD // The SEAD Initiative of the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) and the International Partnership for Energy Efficiency Cooperation (IPEEC) helps turn knowledge into action to accelerate the transition to a clean energy future through effective appliance and equipment energy efficiency programs. SEAD is a multilateral, voluntary effort among Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the European Commission, Germany, India, Indonesia, Japan, -South Korea, Mexico, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States